Swept Away

Swept away. What a concept right? Being completely, and utterly rapped up in something that it consumes you to the point of extravagant involvement where almost nothing else matters. Essentially that’s what being swept away means. It’s crazy because there are so many ways that our lives can sweep us away from actual reality, where instead we create our own.

Now, let me just say, this is gonna be mostly about love. For a moment, go back to a time when you felt completely engulfed in the presence of another person that nothing else seemed relevant. Ok, that might be tricky, because for some people much like myself; we’ve never been in love. I say that in a loose way because there have been times where I thought I could be in love or what have you, but if I’m being 100% honest, I wasn’t. The thing wasn’t that I didn’t want love; it was just that I cared about more about being swept up in the feelings and experience rather than the person who was doing the sweeping.

Let me tell you, if you’ve never experienced that, IT SUCKS. The worst part is when you realize what is actually going on. Let me just say, if you’re married, you’re stuck so you better just go get some counseling and pray about it. BUT if you’re single… consider this: do you care about just being swept away in the romanticism or the person who’s doing the sweeping?

I think the problem is mainly societal pressure to maintain an ideal and precedential norm. Now, I know a lot of people are probably like “what the heck did you just say, bro?” don’t fret my friends, its really actually pretty simple. Essentially the problem is that we see people our age in serious relationships, engaged, married, and having babies and deep down we all have the desire to have those things. Don’t worry, that’s how God programed us. He wants us to have all of those things. The problem is that since we see all the people around us with those things and we cant seem to find it right when we want that we just “settle” for whoever the heck is interested at that time. I’m not saying that those people we “settle” for aren’t amazing people. They’re probably some of the coolest people on the planet, but that doesn’t necessarily mean they’re you’re cool people. I mean we picked them for multiple reasons, at least that’s what we tell our friends… but its probably actually because we feel lonely or we’re jealous, or any number of petty reasons, or it could just be all of those combining to us being tired of waiting.

Let me tell you, I’m a pretty impatient person; I’ll be the first to admit it, but that usually doesn’t work out in my favor. I’m also pretty sure, a good ¾ of humanity fall into the category of impatient people, right along with me. The thing about that is, we’re impatient because we have this deep seeded need to control everything and we think all situations should happen on OUR time line, when in real life, that’s not the case… AT ALL!

In the book Songs of Solomon, which happens to be one of my favs, Solomon says at least 348975348956 times to not awaken love until its ready.

First in chapter 2…

“Oh, let me warn you, sisters in Jerusalem,

    by the gazelles, yes, by all the wild deer:

Don’t excite love, don’t stir it up,

    until the time is ripe—and you’re ready.”

Songs of Solomon 2:7 (MSG)

Then again in chapter 8…

“Daughters of Jerusalem, I charge you:

    Do not arouse or awaken love

    until it so desires.”

Songs of Solomon 8:4 (NIV)

I like how in the NIV it says, “do not arouse or awaken love” because that’s ridiculously true when you give it some thought. Arousal is something that you stir up, at least according to the dictionary. In the dictionary arouse also means to awaken, crazy huh? So that sentence has to be redundant for a reason… because it’s important! It means that loving is a choice, something you have to be consciously aware for and of. It’s free will.

Since love is now basically free will that means we now don’t have some kind of baller excuse for being swept away. If we actually decide to think and pray about all our decisions then the sweeping will be a lot more selective, at least I think it will be.

P.S this isn’t me telling you that all hope is lost, it’s me telling you to wait for God, he knows what’s best for your heart.

“Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”

Proverbs 4:23 (NIV)

“Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord!”

Psalm 27:14 (ESV)

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:”

Ecclesiastes 3:1 (ESV)

Those are pretty commonly heard and recited verses, but they ring true every time they are used. Don’t get swept up in your ideas, guard your heart and wait for God. His plans are way better than you can even imagine. I mean if you need even more of a reminder, go check out Jeremiah 29:11. Haha.

Well, I leave you all with that. I hope you have an amazing snack tomorrow and that you are highly favored in your occupation. You are fantastic, and I love you like grandmas and my sister love knitting.

XoXo,

Brunette Adventurer

Leave a Reply

